NORTH WEST STAGES

- Starters: 125. Finishers: 79. Organisers: Motor Sport (North West) Ltd.















Ingram Takes North West Win!

Chris Ingram and Craig Drew christened their new partnership by bringing their Skoda Fabia Rally2 to victory at the Legend Fires North West Stages after heading the standings throughout the day over the closed road stages. Phil James reports...

right sunshine and clear blue skies promised perfect conditions for the rally that was comprised of three legs with a scheduled 14 stages and two interim services at Myerscough College.

Ingram immediately laid down his marker, stopping the clocks 11 seconds up on closest challengers Paul MacKinnon and Paul Beaton through the opening 4.85 miles of Beacon Fell. The Scots crew reckoned to be making a cautious start competing in the Ford Fiesta R5 in which Stephen Petch won the previous week's Malcolm Wilson Rally but were still three seconds quicker than Neil Simpson and Michael Ġibson's Fabia Rally2.

Tving for fourth place a further second behind were Jason Pritchard and Phil Clark in a hired VW Polo GTi R5 with the Fiesta R5 of David Wright and Paula Swinscoe, Frank Bird and Jack Morton dropped around 15 seconds after spinning their Fiesta R5 and ending up broadside across a narrow road and finished the test 16th fastest.

Ingram extended his lead through SS2 Long Knotts before the stage was stopped when the Skoda Fabia Proto of Paul Wedgbury and Neil Dashfield hit a tree and the car caught fire. Most crews were awarded a notional time as they were directed to SS3 Hawthornthwaite, a fast flowing stage over open moorland, where Ingram

extended his lead over MacKinnon to 23 seconds. Simpson recovered third place from Pritchard as Wright retained fifth maintaining his five second advantage over Mark Kelly and Neil Colman's similar car.

7700 SP

More Fiestas filled the remaining top 10 places with Steve Wood and Dale Bowen's WRC in seventh place, trailing Kelly by nine seconds but a second up on Neil Roskell and Andrew Roughead's R5. Simon Bowen and Richard Robinson's S2000T was two seconds behind while Bird, albeit a further nine seconds in arrears, was now 10th

Next came Nicky Nook, a tight, twisty, undulating 4.69 mile test that was to upset the rankings. Pritchard, running

at car 2 had a heavy crash while a spin left Wright damage free but unable to regain the road. Some 15 cars were given notional times and the stage was restarted after a lengthy delay allowing the next 30 cars to tackle the test competitively. The Escort MkII of Chris Ford and Matty Daniels then crashed and organisers elected to call a halt to proceedings, awarding more notional times and re-directing all remaining crews to first service.

Arriving at Myerscough, the top three order of Ingram, MacKinnon and Simpson remained intact with Kelly and Wood promoted to fourth and fifth respectively. A high pressure fuel pump issue had forced Roskell to miss Nicky Nook, effectively ending his day though he did continue under super rally rules.



Bowen and Bird now took occupancy of sixth and seventh places while Tom Preston/Carl Williamson (Fiesta Rallv2). Joe Cunningham/Josh Beer (Fiesta R5) and Darren Atkinson/Phil Sandham (Escort MkII) completed the top 10 places

Leg 2 got underway with the 2.47 miles of Lewth where Simpson, Kelly and MacKinnon all got within a second of Ingram's fastest stage time. Wood slipped back falling between Bowen and Bird while David Henderson and Chris Lees, their Fiesta R5 sticking throttle problem now sorted, were up to eighth, a second ahead of the tying Cunningham and Preston.

Ingram was fastest over Beacon Fell 2 to move 42 seconds clear of MacKinnon, but a spin following a jump on Long Knots 2 ended with the Fabia coming to rest in a hedge and his lead was cut by 16 seconds. The leading pair then swapped times through Hawthornthwaite 2 and Nicky Nook 2 reaching second service separated by 28 seconds

Simpson and Kelly held station though the Skoda pilot's nine second advantage had now been reduced to three as the Fiesta driver began to pile on the pressure. Bird now had the upper hand over Bowen while Wood was settled in seventh but more problems came Henderson's way as he had to stop and change a puncture

in Nicky Nook before ending his rally with a loss of fifth gear. Preston, Cunningham and Atkinson completed the top 10 rankings.

Lewth 2 was scheduled to start the final Leg but was cancelled to avoid a possible issue with road closure times and so third visits to Beacon Fell, Long Knots, Hawthornthwaite and Nicky Nook would now complete the rally.

"Preston crashed out in Beacon Fell 3 while an off in Hawthornthwaite ended Atkinson's run.'

All of the top seven crews came through unscathed and in unchanged order but Preston crashed out in Reacon Fell 3 while an off in Hawthornthwaite ended Atkinson's run, enabling Cunningham to claim eighth. Despite having to complete the final leg with their VW Polo GTi R5 suffering a launch control problem, John Stone and Tom Woodburn finished ninth while Jonathan Mounsey and Richard Wardle completed the top 10 in their Fiesta Rally2.







Top 25

2 Paul MacKinnon Fiesta Rally 2 52m19

3 Mark Kelly/Neil Colman Ford Fiesta R5 52m35s

4 Neil Simpson/ Michael Gibson Škoda Fabia Rallv2 52m51s

5 Frank Rird/ lack Morton Ford Fiesta Rally2 53m28s

6 Simon Bowen/ Richard Robinson Ford Fiesta S2000T 53m45s

7 Steve Wood/Dale Bowen Ford Fiesta WRC 54m34s

8 Joe Cunningham/ Josh Beer Ford Fiesta 55m11s

9 John Stone/Tom Woodhurn VW Polo GTi R5 55m15s

10 Jonathan Mounsey Richard Wardle Ford Fiesta Rally 2 55m21s

11 Wayne Sisson Peredur Davies Mitsubishi Evo X 56m09s 12 Stephen Simpson/

Patrick Walsh Ford Fiesta Rally2 56m25s 13 Mark Holmes/Crain

Simkiss Ford Fiesta S2000 58m07s 14 Kyle Adam/Steve Brown Ford Escort Mk2 58m20s

15 Neil Wearden/Mark Fisher Hyundai i20 F2 58m57s

16 Bradley Howlett/ Nick Vandevenne Peugeot 208 R2

17 Joe McKeand/ Charlotte McDowa Subaru Impreza 59m08s

18 Nigel Worswick Chris Williams Ford Fiesta S2000T 59m08s

19 Paul Murro/Callum Cross Ford Fiesta R5 59m10s

Mason Ford Escort 59m13s 21 Brad Cole/Jamie

Vaughan Ford Escort 59m34s 22 Mark Borthwick Escort 59m51s

> 23 Graham Coffey Sion Cunniff Ford Fiesta S2000 Turbo 59m55s

24 Martin Hodgson/ Tony Jones Ford Escort Mk2 1h00m16s

25 Nathan Evans/Rhy Williams Edwards Renault Clio Cup





CLASS A MARK & ANDREW CONSTANTIN



CLASS B BRADLEY HOWLETT/NICK VANDEVENNE



1h02m28s



CLASS D KYLE ADAM/STEVEN BROWN





Results Simon John Rogers Mitsubishi Evo 9 27 Phil Turner/Terry Martin Ford Escort RS 1h00m45s

29 Oliver Hunter/ Ionathon Kennedy Ford Escort 1h01m04 30 Steve Cotton/ Martin Ogelsby Subaru Impreza RS 1h01m09s

28 Fraser Anderson

Harry Marchbank Ford Fiesta Rally 4

31 Adrian Spencer Impreza 1h01m20s

Cunningham/ Charley Sayer-Payne Mitsubishi Evo 1h01m23s

Andrew Peak Mitsuhishi Evo IX 34 Ben Crump/lan

33 Chris Melling/

1h01m37s 35 Mike Simpson/Dale

36 Lee Vivian/Dave Robson Ford Fiesta Rally 2 1h02m04s

Gibbons Ford Escor Mk1 1h01m54s

37 David Benson/ Steven Benson Honda Civic EK4 1h02m20s

Pauline Merrills 39 Mark Constantine

Vauxhall Corsa

40 Tommi Meadows/ Liam Johnson Ford Fiesta R2 1h02m29s 41 Lewis Gatt/Callum

Young Ford Mk2 Escort 1h02m30s 42 Steve Kenyon Jonathan Lee Cragg

43 Carl Tuer/Rob Tuer Renault Clio R3T

Mitsubishi Lancer Evo

5 1h02m46s

44 Rupert Flynn/Osiar Owen Ford Fiests

45 Geoff Roberts/lan Jones Ford Escort RS1800 1h03m44s 46 Jim McDowall

Shona Hale Subaru Impreza 1h03m49s 47 George Merrills/ Colin Blunt Honda Civic Type-R 1h03m51s

48 Dave Thwaites Tony Edwards Ford Escort Mk2 1h03m54

49 Rerwyn Evans/Ifan 1h04m11s

50 Mike East/Glyn Thomas Ford Fiesta R2 1h04m22s

51 Graham Muter/ Steve Hallmark Ford Escort 1h04m25s

06 | PACENOLES APRIL 2022 APRIL 2022 PACENOLES | 07